Board of Legislature

355 West Main Street, Suite 409
Malone, NY 12953
Phone: 518-481-1640


The Franklin County Legislature is the governing body of the county, exercising a wide variety of administrative and legislative responsibilities that include establishing County policies, reviewing the administration of government, appropriating funding, levying taxes, reviewing and adopting the annual budget and enacting resolutions and local laws. These responsibilities are defined in the New York State Constitution and the Laws of the State of New York.

The current seven-member structure of the Board of Legislators has been in force since 1970. Previously, the County was governed by a nineteen-member Board of Supervisors and each one represented one of the County's nineteen towns. Today, these 19 towns are divided into seven districts of equal population, which allows each legislator to represent the same number of county residents and in some districts, across multiple municipalities. Every ten years, a reapportionment is developed to establish the seven districts and is based on the U.S. Census.

Every January, the Board of Legislators re-organizes to elect a chairman, vice-chairman, majority and minority leaders, and determine committee structures. The chairman, a position of considerable responsibility, appoints the chairman and members of each Standing Committee. He also serves as an ex-officio member on each Committee. The chairman's role is to preside over all meetings of the Legislature and represent the county and Legislature in various capacities.
The County Legislature meets on the first and third Thursday of each month in the Legislative Chambers at the Franklin County Court House.  The Call to Order is at 11:30 a.m.  Prior to the Call to Order, meetings of the Standing Committees are held.  The public is welcome to attend both Regular Meetings and Standing Committee meetings. 



Members are Legislators Paul Maroun (Chair), Paul Lauzon and Greg Janisewski.  The committee  oversees eight departments/issues:

  • County Clerk
  • Board of Elections
  • County Manager
  • Negotiations & Grievance
  • Personnel
  • County Attorney
  • County Coroners
  • Data Processing


Members are Legislators Greg Janisewski (Chair), Edward Lockwood and Paul Maroun. The committee oversees five departments/issues:

  • Budget
  • County Treasurer
  • County Auditor
  • Insurance
  • Real Property

Economic Development 

Members are Legislators Edward Lockwood (Chair), Andrea Dumas and Lindy Ellis. The committee oversees seven departments/issues:

  • Industrial Development Agency & Tourism
  • Planning & Policy Development
  • Grants
  • Education
  • Conservation
  • Soil & Water
  • Cooperative Extension

Human Resources 

Members are Legislators Andrea Dumas (Chair), Edward Lockwood and Paul Maroun. The committee oversees six departments:

  • Public Health
  • Office for the Aging
  • Social Services
  • Community Services
  • Youth Bureau
  • Veterans Services

Public Safety

Members are Legislators Lindy Ellis (Chair), Andrea Dumas and Paul Lauzon. The committee oversees eight departments:

  • District Attorney
  • Probation
  • Public, Conflict  and Alternative Conflict Defender
  • Sheriff & Jail
  • Emergency Services
  • Traffic Safety
  • Assigned Counsel

Public Works & Services 

Members are Legislators Paul Lauzon (Chair), Lindy Ellis and Greg Janisewski. The committee oversees seven departments/issues:

  • Buildings & Grounds
  • Highway
  • Solid Waste
  • Weights & Measures
  • Library & Museum
  • Public Transportation
  • Snowmobilers 


Donald Dabiew
District 5
Phone: 358-0049 (H) 521-7261 (Cell)

Vice Chairman
Greg Janisewski
District 2
Phone: 518-497-3240

Majority Leader Paul Lauzon District 1
Phone: 518-358-2396

Minority Leader
Paul Maroun
District 6
Phone: 518-359-3066

Edward Lockwood
District 4
Phone: 518-521-8295

Andrea Dumas
District 3
Phone: 518-524-9514

Lindy Ellis
District 7
Phone: 1-518-354-3103