Traffic Safety Board

355 West Main Street
Malone, NY 12953


The Franklin County Traffic Safety Board is a group of concerned residents of Franklin County that meet monthly in order to discuss traffic concerns and solutions.

The Board was formed by the Franklin County Board of Legislators under the authority of Article 43 of the New York State Vehicle and Traffic Law (sections 1672 -1677).  Members who serve on the Traffic Safety Board are required to be residents of Franklin County and are appointed for three-year terms.  They are not compensated for service to the Board and attendance at all meetings is voluntary.  Rules and regulations as set forth by the Franklin County Board of Legislators regarding the composition of the Traffic Safety Board and the manner in which it conducts business can be viewed in the Franklin County Manager's Office located at the Franklin County Court House, 355 West Main Street, Malone, New York, 12953. 

The Franklin Traffic Safety Board currently consists of representation from the following agencies:

New York State:

  • Department of Transportation
  • Division of State Police
  • Department of Environmental Conservation
  • Department of Parks and Recreation

Franklin County:

  • District Attorney's Office
  • County Manager's Office
  • Sheriff's Department
  • Probation Department
  • Highway Department
  • Public Health
  • Public Transportation
  • Emergency Services/911

Local Law Enforcement:

  • Village of Malone Police Department
  • Village of Tupper Lake Police Department
  • Village of Saranac Lake Police Department
  • Saint Regis Mohawk Tribal Police Department 


  • Driver Education Teacher
  • Insurance Agent
  • Citizen Members

The Franklin County Traffic Safety Board meets on a monthly basis.  Meetings are generally held on the fourth Wednesday of each month, with exceptions due to scheduling problems, vie WebEx. The public is welcome and encouraged to attend. 

In January of each year the Board nominates and elects members for the positions of Chairperson, Vice Chair.  An Executive Secretary is also appointed by the Board and this person assists in the conducting of the day-to-day business of the Board.  Currently there exists a committee for each of the following topics:  Off Road Initiative, Victim Impact Panel, Events, Guests, Media & Legislation, Child Passenger Safety and Web Site. 

Currently the Board has one paid position.  The position is a Traffic Safety Coordinator and is part-time positions and is grant funded. 

It is the goal of the Franklin County Traffic Safety Board to further traffic safety within our County.  It is our belief that working together we can save lives, reduce the number of people injured in traffic crashes, and reduce the overall number of crashes that occur with in our County.  We accomplish this by furthering the initiatives suggested by the New York State Governor's Traffic Safety Committee and through our efforts that include the three "E"s of Traffic Safety:  Engineering, Education, and Enforcement.  The Board addresses many local traffic issues and provides traffic safety education upon request.  The Board also assists in organizing enforcement efforts for Driving While Intoxicated checkpoints, Off Road Recreational checkpoints, and Underage Drinking initiatives. 

Any questions, comments, or inquiries can be made to the Board by contacting the person listed in this website or by email at


TSB Chairman
Franklin County Traffic Safety Board
Lt. Ted Cook
Saint Regis Mohawk Tribal Police
545 State Route 37
Hogansburg, NY 13655
Phone: 518-358-9200, 315-842-0283

TSB Vice Chairman
Franklin County Traffic Safety Board
Jonathan Sanger - Franklin County Probation

TSB Executive Secretary
Franklin County Traffic Safety Board
Scott Premo

TSB Coordinator
Franklin County Traffic Safety Board
Scott Premo
355 West Main Street
Malone, NY 12953


Governor's Traffic Safety Committee